Where have I been?

Well, it’s been quite some time. I’d venture to guess almost no one reads this blog yet so it’s ok for now, but incase anyone does I apologize for the delay in posts. It’s funny that it’s become such a difficulty for me to post with regularity because I used to be someone who blogged every single day, multiple times a day. I suppose it was easier when I could just post nonsense like silly photos or conversations, but I am not so into that form of writing anymore, and so here we are.

I have a lot of posts planned, and a good amount even mapped out, but I haven’t had the time to put them into words or properly wirte them yet, and I’d rather post good content than rushed content.

As for the why I haven’t had time, a lot has been going on the past few months. Most importantly, I was in my first ever circus performances October 11th and 18th (See photo evidence below)! This was part of a 13 week course I took, and one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I have practiced aerials (for hobby) on and off for five years, but more off than on and honestly I am not THAT good yet. I was already feeling underwhelmed with my aerial abilities when I was invited to be in the performance, but then I found out there would be some acting components as well. The acting prompts were so difficult I almost quit, but fortunately was talked out of it by a good friend who was also in the class. TL;DR, it was difficult at times (some more than others), but it was a really amazing experience and I am so proud of myself for doing it. Some videos of my performances are here, or the entire show can be seen here!

Other things which have lent to my not having time: some personal hardships; looking for a new job; trying to make time for artwork and (personal) writing; the birth of a niece; seeing my youngest sister off to college; and trying desperately and frantically to find a new roommate.

As for the Emotiblob project: it is not dead! It’s true I haven’t kept up with it because of all of the above and more, but I have been mentally considering the methods with which I make them and I have a lot planned for the future of Emotiblobs, so if you’re a fan of them sit tight and be on the lookout for some cool stuff coming up with them!

Overall, things have been a hectic roller coaster but I am hoping now that I am getting into the swing of things I can keep this going.

That said: A lot of the content discussed here will also be spoken about at my Philadelphia Self Quantifiers meetup talk. I am unsure when it will be as of right now because it had to be rescheduled due to sickness, but I will definitely put a post up about it so if anyone reads this they can either come or tune in online on the live google chat!

Until next time.

About tamarahala

Tamara is currently living in Petaluma, CA as an intern at Green String Institute! She is a mixed media artist, student aerialist, and former neuroscientist.

Leave a Reply

