On being honest with yourself (and taking breaks when necessary)

Ohhh no I missed a day! Just kidding, I did it intentionally.

I didn’t do a whole lot yesterday. I didn’t even meet my Fitbit step goal, something that rarely happens, but has happened a little more lately because I accepted that SOMETIMES it’s okay to miss a day. I had a really fun but exhausting night Saturday, and while I was disappointed I didn’t get more done on Sunday, I am not beating myself up about it. Instead, I am focusing on the things I did get done: some Evernote organization, drafting for future blogs, I read an entire (short) book and half of another book. Also, I realized that while I’d like to write here everyday, if I had forced it yesterday it would have been total crap. I was weighing this in my head considering something I read recently that Gretchen Rubin said in a book I’m reading:

Because I write every day, no one day’s work seems particularly important. I have good days and I have bad days.

I weighed this for a few hours between naps. It goes along with a slew of articles and book mentions about the importance of daily routines, etc. And I do think routine is important. But when I’m honest with myself and know for sure that my mind isn’t in it and I’ll be producing crappy writing, I feel like it’s the right decision to listen to myself and give myself a break. I’m not saying this is the right answer for every situation. But sometimes, especially when you’re dealing with unusual circumstances that may be contributing to an overall blah, it’s ok to give yourself a break. And it may even be better for your productivity.

I technically did write, I just didn’t post anything. I am working on a bunch of drafts at once for this site. I know it may not be the best way, but I have so many ideas at once I’d like to get them all down and then start hammering them out. I’m also trying to incorporate a lot of articles and other references into posts, which takes a lot of time and organization. And I want to do it right because it means a lot to me and this blog has been helping distract me from some of my bigger sources of stress in life. So for now, maybe not daily posts, but posts I’m sure I’m proud of.

And now on the subject of self-betterment and giving yourself a break: I am off to a free intro lecture on Transcendental Meditation. They have some more dates in the Philadelphia area coming up, so if you’re interested here is a link!

Tags: , , , ,

About tamarahala

Tamara is currently living in Pennsylvania working as a Scheduling Coordinator/Payroll Supervisor with Live Nation Entertainment. Looking for fun short-term opportunities during the off season from November to March.

Leave a Reply

